Juniper Workshop - Saturday March 9th (18 Feb 2019)

Join our exclusive Juniper workshop feature Leong Kwong.

Saturday 9th March, 2019 10am at the Bonsai South Nursery (114-116 The Boulevarde, Caringbah NSW 2229)
Call to reserve your space – call (02) 9531 4589

Hurry as space is limited! To reserve your spot call (02) 9531 4589 .

www.bonsaisouth.com.au/bonsai-workshop-juniper/

Chinese elm help

11 months 3 weeks ago - 11 months 3 weeks ago #60544 by Shell
Hi guys, got this Chinese elm the other day to practice on as it was really cheap

Trying to decide which is a better front. The original front has what I think good branch placement but not so great taper.

On the side seems to be more interesting trunk wise but the branches are in an awkward spot.

Beginner here so i don’t really know what looking at but that was my assumptions. What do you guys think?

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

11 months 3 weeks ago #60545 by JC
Hi Shell

Welcome to bonsai south.

Firstly I know you asked about the tree, but I noticed that the wiring is a little untidy and it needs to be applied properly to get the best effect and to protect the branches from snapping, so three things are most important choosing the correct gauge, a good anchor point and correct angle it is put on. The best angle to apply the wire is at a 45-degree angle for the most holding power.

So these two videos are good to get that information from.
Part 1 www.kaizenbonsai.com/bonsai_videos?videoid=6
Part 2 www.kaizenbonsai.com/bonsai_videos?videoid=7

Now to help out on your origional question.
For me, I think that the first picture presents the best view as in the base has a good root spread (Nebari) and the branches are spaced OK and it looks as though there is a branch you have used as a rear branch.